Michael Sedgwick Award 2020

The effect of the motor car on the built landscape, the story of the only British motor manufacturer to be detained as a potential fifth-columnist in the second world war, the man behind the successful world speed record attempts of the 1930s and 1940s as well as the histories of a racing garagiste and his team, and motor car manufacturers large and small. These are just some of the subjects covered by the first eight annual winners of the Michael Sedgwick Award. The award panel are looking for the ninth winner, which would normally be announced at the Autumn Seminar of the Society of Automotive Historians in Britain. This event has now been cancelled in view of the current pandemic, but the award will take place regardless, with results being published in the Winter 2020 issue of SAHB Times (#103).  Eligible books will have been published in the year to 30th June 2020, in the English language and about aspects of motoring in Britain. The judges will be looking for excellence in research, presentation, readability and novelty, furthering our understanding of the subject. One of the books on the longlist is Louis Coatalen - Engineering Impressario of  Humber, Sunbeam, Talbot and Darraq by Oliver Heal, which was financially supported by the MSMT.

Past winners have been:

Year Book Title Author Publisher
2019 The All-British Marendaz Special Graham Skillen Fonthill Media
2018 Reid Railton – Man of Speed Karl Ludvigsen Evro Publishing
2017 Wolseley - A Very British Car Anders Clausager Herridge & Sons
2016 Skinners Union Mike Harvey The S.U. Carburettor Co
2015 Harry Lester – His Cars and the Monkey Stable Stewart Penfound BR Books
2014 Morris – The Cars and the Company Jon Pressnell Haynes Publishing
2013 Carscapes Kathryn A. Morrison & John Minnis Yale University Press
2012 Coachcraft - 1930s Coachbuilding Style John Dyson The Railton Owers Club

More News...