Michael Sedgwick Award 2018

The Society of Automotive Historians in Britain announced Reid Railton: Man of Speed by Karl Ludvigsen as the winner of the 2018 Michael Sedgwick Award at its meeting on 21st October 2018 at the Sir Henry Royce Foundation at Paulerspury. This was the seventh annual award, decided by a panel of experts drawn from the SAHB membership, made for books about aspects of motoring history in Britain, in the English language. The winning book demonstrated excellence in its research, presentation, readability and novelty, and materially furthered our understanding of the subject. The award comes with a prize of £250 from the Michael Sedgwick Memorial Trust. This book is available from Evro Publishing
The entries close on 1st July each year for books published in the previous 12 months. Previous winners have been:

2017 - Wolseley, a Very British Car by Anders Ditlev Clausager – a comprehensive marque history.
2016 – Skinner’s Union: A History of the Skinner Family and the S.U. Company by Mike Harvey – the full story of the well-known carburettor company.
2015 – Harry Lester, his cars and the Monkey Stable by Stewart Penfound – a history of the activities of this garagiste and his competition cars
2014 - Morris, the Cars and the Company by Jon Pressnell – a new history of Britain’s foremost industrialist and philanthropist’s motoring activities.
2013 – Carscapes: The Motor Car, Architecture and Landscape in England by John Minnis and Kathryn Morrison – a well-illustrated survey of this subject which has hitherto received little attention.
2012 – Coachcraft by John Dyson – a full history of this coachbuilder, well known in the 1930s for bodying a major part of Railton’s output

More News...